Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
 Post subject: [Informer Article] * Block
PostPosted: June 26th, 2013, 1:18 am 
Site Owner

RS Name: shane12088
RS Status: P2P
Writers, designers, artists, musicians all experience writing, designing, artistic, and musical blocks. Software developers can have blocks as well, and during that time it's hard to imagine anything getting done. Recently I've felt as though any piece of code I can produce is overly simplistic. It means nothing and isn't really anything special compared to any other piece of code. I'm a believer in the principle that if a product doesn't do something better than a competitor or different version it should not exist. Furthermore, as a programmer I do not get satisfaction out of generic programming. One can only weave the same pattern so many times before getting bored. This is developer's block for me.

Programming can be a lot like other creative mediums. I find it very similar to writing essays or prose since they both rely on language semantics and greater comprehension. I've said this before to many people wondering if computer science or a similar field is right for them, programming is just the method of expression. I've discovered that in order to energize myself I need to be working on something I have not done before or to be learning through the process. It's the reason tasks such as wiring up a website to respond to simple table filling database queries is boring or maintaining existing backend code are extremely dull, at least to myself. The problem is that it's not always going to be easy to find something new and interesting to work on.