Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Can Anyone Set me off on the Right Foot?
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2014, 11:07 pm 
Steel Member

RS Name: Exort
RS Status: P2P
Clan Name: Ka Pai
Hey Guys,
I'm currently in my last year of high-school and am sitting a scholarship exam, worth $5,000 NZD which goes towards the University of Waikato.

The Exam is here: http://www.cs.waikato.ac.nz/admissions/ ... 013-written-exam.pdf

Does anyone know where i can learn what is in the exam or lend me a hand?

Post subject: Register and login to get these in-post ads to disappear
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2014, 11:07 pm 
Steel Member

Post subject: Re: Can Anyone Set me off on the Right Foot?
PostPosted: June 25th, 2014, 1:07 pm 
Site Owner

RS Name: shane12088
Some of the questions are general technology based questions which shouldn't be too hard if you've been keeping up with technology for a while. These ones you can definitely research on the internet to see what the best way of going about them is (if that's allowed).

The programming ones should be tackled in the following way:
1. Look into various programming languages and pick one that's suitable for the exam.
2. Learn about this programming language, what can it do, where is it used, how do I use it?
3. Start creating practical examples with the language in order to actually learn the language yourself.

My guide on learning how to program: http://informer.rsbandb.com/article/201 ... g-how-to-program.htm

PostPosted: June 25th, 2014, 10:22 pm 
Rsbandb Donor

RS Name: Chief. Snake
RS Status: Retired
Clan Name: Bits and Bytes
I have actually sat this exam myself and my flatmate in fact won the scholarship, so I feel I am in a unique position to be able to offer advice! ;)